The Solitude Salesman

‘That is too steep! I can’t climb up,’ he said panting. ‘We have all the time, let us sit down and take a breather,’ I replied.

‘Are you sure this is where I will find peace?’ He sat down looking down at the valley, catching his breath. He looked at his phone. There was no reception.

‘No, but this is where you will find yourself,’ I said, sipping water from the shared bottle.

‘Myself?…’What do you mean?’ he asked surprised. I handed him the bottle. He glugged down the water eagerly.

‘When was the last time you listened to yourself?’ I asked him, eyebrows raised, making eye contact. He still held his phone in his hand.

He lowered his gaze and placed his phone carefully in his satchel.

‘Solitude will navigate your path, you just have to surrender,’ I said, closing my eyes, lifting my chin a bit, taking in the cool air.

‘What if it doesnt work?’ He was relentless.

‘Well then at least you would have experienced solitude. That’s a good start!’ I smiled. He took one good look at the path, stood up with his hands resting on his waist and said, ‘Alright then, let’s get this done!’

Alka Sharma

All rights reserved

To be continued…

seal

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Harshali says:

    Awesome! Eagerly waiting for the rest of the story.. 😐😇

    Like

Leave a Reply

