Dream come true

Lilies were my favourite flowers. Pristine white, gentle and virgin. So when I saw them in a dream, I knew it meant something. The dark, broody sea lord walked up to me with the bunch. The fish formed a silver halo around us, sealing in the magic. He gently lifted both his arms in a prayer like pose, right above my head and lowered his gaze.

‘May you be blessed with abundance, and value its worth,’ he said, his voice a distant echo in the waves. I felt the velvet touch on my head and accepted the blessing graciously. I woke up refreshed. The sunlight peeked through the curtains and the breeze was nippy. Outstretching my arms I froze mid-air, as I saw the bouquet placed on my bed-side table – Tall, proud lilies leaning to meet me, holding a message in a card faithfully. I opened hastily – ‘Congratulations on your first book! P.S. The sea lord is a hit with the publisher.’ I pinched myself twice – and then squealed in delight – ‘Yay!’

Alka Sharma

All rights reserved

seal

For Jane Dougherty ‘s micro-fiction challenge

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s a great title for a book! If you haven’t written it yet, I’ll race you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

